Division of Finance and Administration

Public Safety Advisory Committee

Public Safety Advisory Committee

Public Safety Advisory Committee


The Public Safety Advisory Committee proactively seeks the advice and counsel from a diverse group of community members regarding issues that impact the safety and quality of life of students, faculty, staff, and visitors of the UCI campus and Medical Center. 


A link between the campus community and the UCI Police Department, the Public Safety Advisory Committee provides a forum to discuss and make recommendations on public policies, community outreach and may participate on hiring panels for key UCI Police Department personnel. The advisory committee will produce an annual report which summarizes its activities and includes key data of interest to the campus community, including the number and types of complaints the UCI Police Department receives.


The Public Safety Advisory Committee members represent the diversity of campus stakeholders, including students, faculty and staff of UCI. Members are appointed by the CFO and Vice Chancellor of the Division of Finance and Administration from nominations provided by representative groups.

Committee Members

  • Carroll Seron - Professor, UCI School of Social Ecology (Chair)
  • Adisa Ajamu - Director, UCI Center for Black Cultures, Resources, and Research
  • Karen Andrews - Director, UCI Disability Resources Center
  • Davidian Bishop - Director, UCI LGBT Resource Center
  • Gwen Black - Senior Associate Director, UCI Equal Opportunity and Diversity
  • Joe Brothman - Director, EH&S, UCI Medical Center
  • Paul Cooper - Assistant Chief of Police, UCI Police Department (ex officio member)
  • Olga Dunaevsky - Senior Financial Analyst, UCI Henry Samueli School of Engineering
  • Prince Heto - Council Member, UCI Associated Graduate Students
  • Merielle Macaraeg - Campus Climate Commission, Associated Students - UCI
  • Jim Meeker - Professor Emeritus, UCI School of Social Ecology
  • Megan Morrison - Residence Life Coordinator, UCI Housing
  • Hobart Taylor - Co-Chair, Homeowner Representative Board (HRB), University Hills
  • Oscar Teran - Director, UCI Dreamers Resource Center

Meeting Frequency

Public Safety Advisory Committee meetings are held quarterly.